EORTC recognized for 2012 ESMO Lifetime Achievement Award

The EORTC is pleased to announce that the following awards will be presented during the ESMO 2012 Opening Ceremony on Friday, 28 September 2012 in Vienna:

ESMO Lifetime Achievement Award

Brussels, Belgium

The 2012 ESMO Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to the European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC), this unique pan-European non-profit clinical cancer research organization created 50 years ago, comprising over 300 hospitals and cancer centers in over 30 countries, including some 2,500 collaborators from all disciplines involved in cancer treatment and research has been and continues to be the largest organization which carries out independent clinical studies at the European level in all types of cancer.
Prof. Françoise Meunier, EORTC Director General, will accept the award on behalf of the EORTC.

The EORTC is grateful for the commitment and dedication of all EORTC Presidents
The ESMO Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to individuals or groups possessing an international reputation and demonstrated commitment to cancer treatment and research.

Other ESMO Awards

Hamilton Fairley Award


Prof. Jean- Yves Blay, Centre Léon Bérard, Lyon, France

The recipient of the 2012 Hamilton Fairley Award is Professor Jean-Yves Blay, for his contribution to translational cancer research. Jean-Yves Blay is Professor of Medicine in Medical Oncology and Head of the Medical Oncology Department and the Translational Research Pole at the Centre Léon Bérard of the Université Claude Bernard in Lyon, France. He is one of Europe’s most published lead and co-authors, with more than 350 peer-reviewed papers, principally on sarcomas, GIST and immunotherapy. He writes and lectures on public health issues such as breast and prostate cancer screening programs. He is the past-president of the EORTC and serves as scientific committee member of five cancer centers in France. He has been a reviewer for the Journal of Clinical Oncology, Blood, Cancer, Annals of Oncology, and the European Journal of Cancer.

The Hamilton Fairley Award commemorates one of the founding fathers of Medical Oncology in Europe and is presented to candidates who are internationally recognized for lifetime achievements in science and clinical / laboratory research.

ESMO Award


Prof. Ian Tannock, University of Toronto, Canada

The 2012 ESMO Award has been bestowed to Professor Ian Tannock for his work on clinical trials for men with metastatic prostate cancer and laboratory-based research on the microenvironment of solid tumors, their resistance to drugs and methods to overcome it. The Award recognizes his tremendous contributions in improving methodology for undertaking clinical trials with emphasis on endpoints of clinical benefit and, at laboratory level, unmasking aspects of solid tumor biology as well as improving outcomes of treatment with chemotherapy.

Based at the University of Toronto, Canada, where he is Professor of Medicine and Medical Biophysics, Prof Tannock has led and helped to design trials that led to the identification of optimal chemotherapy for men with metastatic castration-resistant prostate cancer. Prof. Tannock also serves as Chair of the EORTC Scientific Audit Committee.

The ESMO Award is conferred on an ESMO member who has made an outstanding contribution to the development of oncology worldwide and who recognizes the importance of promoting oncology as a specialty within the international community.

Commemoration of Georges Mathé and presentation of the “Flower of Hope” to Catherine Gaston-Mathé by Martine Piccart


Georges Mathé was the first EORTC President (1962 – 1965)

Back to news list