16th ECCO – 36th ESMO Multidisciplinary Cancer Congress to be held in Stockholm, Sweden, on 23 – 27 September, 2011

Building on the successes of the former ECCO and ESMO meeting, the first jointly organized Congress, ECCO 15 – ESMO 34, Berlin, September 21 – 24, 2009, marked an occasion of many firsts and a new phase and a new day for European oncology.

With a record attendance of almost 15,000 participants, 26 different tracks devised by over 100 leading experts, some 600 invited speakers and more abstracts and late breaking data presented than ever before, and perhaps more importantly, the views of every discipline put together in a truly multidisciplinary forum, enriched our knowledge and represented an important milestone in progressing oncology as a whole.

 The large amount of completely new and exciting data that stimulated the very best discussions throughout the Congress reflected the clear desire of the European cancer community to showcase latest data and make the headlines for the first time in Europe and rest of the world.

 We can and will do even better.

As we plan for the next premier European cancer meeting – 16th ECCO  –  36th ESMO Multidisciplinary Cancer Congress, 23 – 27 September, 2011, we invite the co-operative study groups to commit to submitting practice changing data which will be mature in 2011 to our joint multidisciplinary Congress.  In anticipation, we have already planned to increase the number of oral presentation slots and are therefore extremely keen to explore these opportunities with you directly. If you have the practice changing data we are looking for in the pipeline, we strongly encourage you to contact us directly to discuss submission now. The general abstract submission deadline is 18 April 2011 and the late breaking abstract submission deadline is 10th August 2011.

 We look forward to hearing about your exciting data and to collectively advancing treatment of cancer at ECCO 16 – ESMO 36 in 2011.

Professor Anne-Lise Borresen-Dale
Co- Scientific Chair                                                                

Professor Jean-Charles Soria
Co-Scientific Chair

Professor Michael Baumann
Congress Chair 

ECCO President

Professor David Kerr
ESMO President

Back to news list